Pregnancy

Being pregnant brings…

…so much new experience! All the good and bads.

First trimester was a blur that I hope I don’t have to go through again. Now that it’s over I’ve forgotten how bad it was. When it was at the worst, I was in bed for two weeks straight, not being able to eat or do much. The constant nausea and dizziness made me question if this was all worth it. But of course, every time I got to see him on a small monitor of ultrasound or hear his heartbeat, all of the bads were completely forgotten. Don’t get me wrong. I feel truly blessed to be going through a healthy pregnancy and so grateful to have him kicking and thriving inside me. It’s just that when I was in pain, it felt like the nausea would never end…

IMG_7161.JPG

I am now at 23 weeks and he’s been kicking and tumbling so strongly! It’s such a wonderful feeling to know I’m growing a tiny human inside me and that he is doing well! Lately I’ve been trying to “communicate” with him. Whenever he kicks me at a certain spot, I let him know that I see him by tapping gently on that very same spot. Then I move few inches over and tap at a different location on my belly. He usually responds by kicking at this new spot. I read somewhere that babies can hear and respond to you from inside the belly, but never believed that “communication” was possible. Now that my husband and I both witnessed this with our little one and also captured it on video, we are in awe more than ever at this amazing human biology and life.

For the past month, I’ve been researching on all kinds of baby gears, furnitures, clothes, etc. There’s too many different brands and types even for a simple nursing bottle. Thank goodness that we are finally done with our baby registry! The hardest one was the stroller. We came down to two after trying many at Buy Buy Baby and Target: Baby Jogger City Mini GT Travel System in Charcoal and Chicco Bravo LE Trio Travel System in Genesis. Both were the latest design and color available at the store. I really loved everything about Chicco Bravo especially since the car seat is rated very high and the folding, unfolding of the stroller was super easy! The canopy of the stroller also overlapped the car seat canopy. The only thing I didn’t like was the wheels, which were plastic and not rubber. The stroller didn’t ride as smooth as City Mini GT. As for the City Mini GT, the best part was how easy and smooth the stroller moved with me. I felt like I wan’t pushing anything. The wheels are really great as they are made for all types of grounds. The downsides are cost, functions of the canopy, and also the fact that you have to purchase accessories separately (parent console, child tray, etc. It was a hard decision to make as I loved everything about Chicco yet the most important (the ride) part was lacking. Baby Jogger had the right wheels and great ease of movement yet it definitely lacked on other features…especially the fact that it was harder to fold and unfold. We went with Baby Jogger at the end for our registry but who knows… we might change our minds, haha.

IMG_7156.JPG

I can’t believe I only have about 4 months to go! We want to get the room ready with all the furnitures by the end of October. By mid-November the latest, we want to have everything (clothes, gears, etc) done because the holidays in November and December can delay a lot of shipments and ability to shop. I will keep you posted on the progress!

 

Leave a Reply

